Kansas Adjutant General's Department

Contact: Public Affairs Office
Email: ng.ks.ksarng.list.staff-pao@mail.mil

(785) 646-0090


17-004 Kansas National Guard Airmen of the Year announced

Maj. Gen. Lee Tafanelli, the adjutant general, has announced the selections for the Kansas Air National Guard Outstanding Airmen of the Year awards for 2016. The Outstanding Airmen of the Year program seeks to recognize the very best Airmen in the state of Kansas.

In making the announcement, Tafanelli said “It is truly a privilege to serve beside our nation’s very best.”

A review board took place in January to select this year’s recipients from candidates from both the 190th Air Refueling Wing in Topeka and the 184th intelligence Wing in Wichita. Board members reviewed each candidate’s nomination packages for leadership, job performance, community involvement, and personal achievements.

The final selections were made by Brig. Gen. Jay Selanders, assistant adjutant general – Air Component and commander of the Kansas Air National Guard, and Command Chief Master Sgt. William Stacey, state command chief master sergeant, after receiving recommendations from this year’s board members.

Airman of the Year award winners for 2016 are:

  • Senior Airman Jacob D. Mattern, 184th Intelligence Wing, Airman of the Year
  • Staff Sgt. Mayra A. Santos, 184th Intelligence Wing, Noncommissioned Officer of the Year
  • Master Sgt. Cale R. Yost, 190th Air Refueling Wing, Senior NCO of the Year
  • Master Sgt. Jerry W. Gardinier, 184th Intelligence Wing, First Sergeant of the Year
  • Senior Master Sgt. Anthony O. Snyder, 190th Air Refueling Wing, Honor Guard Member of the Year
  • Master Sgt. Jayme L. Gabbard, 184th Intelligence Wing, Honor Guard Manager of the Year
  • Master Sgt. Cale R. Yost, 190th Air Refueling Wing, Overall Airman of the Year



Questions/suggestions to: Public Affairs Director