Kansas Adjutant General's Department

Contact: Public Affairs Office
Email: ng.ks.ksarng.list.staff-pao@mail.mil

(785) 646-0090


12-073 Update: More Kansas counties issue burn bans

With hot, dry conditions in the forecast for much of Kansas, extreme fire danger and dangerous outdoor burning conditions continue to be a concern for counties in the North Central, Southeast and Kansas City Metro areas of the state. Personnel with the Kansas Division of Emergency Management remain in contact with county emergency managers to monitor weather conditions and be ready to provide assistance with wildfires if needed.

"We stand ready to help coordinate a state response to a wildfire if requested by one of our county emergency managers," said Angee Morgan, deputy KDEM director. "Minimizing our state’s fire risk under these dry conditions will take everyone’s vigilance. We urge Kansans to be extra careful when using outdoor grills, fireworks, smoking materials and other open flames."

To mitigate fire potential, a number of counties in these areas have instituted burn bans. These counties include Anderson, Atchison, Barton, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clark, Clay, Decatur, Edwards, Ellsworth, Ford, Franklin, Graham, Grant, Greenwood, Gove, Hodgeman, Johnson (also includes the cities Lenexa, Olathe, Overland Park and Shawnee), Labette, Lane, Lincoln, Logan, Marshall, Meade, Miami (Spring Hill only), Mitchell, Morton, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Rawlins, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stevens, Thomas, Trego and Wyandotte counties. A burn ban in Stanton County will go into effect July 5.

Geary County has a burn permit system in place for areas outside of city limits. Anyone wishing to conduct a burn must call in; the county fire chief will consider each burn request on an individual basis.

Stafford County has instituted a "strong restrictions" burn ban, which means burning is only allowed if a site visit has been conducted by the fire department and the site is deemed safe for burning beyond a reasonable doubt.

In some instances, these burn bans include a prohibition on the sale and use of fireworks. Kansans are urged to check with their local authorities about the use of fireworks.

Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks has announced that only two of the state’s 26 state parks, Perry State Park and Elk City State Park, plan to allow personal fireworks and only in designated areas. Professional fireworks displays have been cancelled at Cedar Bluff, Lovewell, Kanopolis, Prairie Dog and Wilson state parks. Park visitors should check with their local parks office for burn and fireworks restrictions. Contact information for any Kansas state parks may be found at www.ksoutdoors.com .




Questions/suggestions to: Public Affairs Director